Vector Security & Privacy FAQs

This article answers questions about how Vector works, and how, and why Vector uses certain user data.


1) Who is Vector?

Vector is a home robot that moves and interacts autonomously. Vector has personality, and his onboard processor helps him make sense of the world. Once you set him up, he’s always ready to interact, and he connects to the cloud for his voice features.


2) How does Vector find his way? Does this data go to the cloud?

Vector navigates the world using his internal camera, accelerometer, gyroscope, and downward-facing cliff detectors, and a process called SLAM (simultaneous localization and mapping). This processing happens on the robot. Vector does not take or store pictures unless you ask him to do so.


3) Can Vector take pictures?

Yes. Give a command by voice for Vector to take a picture (“Hey Vector, take a picture”). You’ll hear a simulated shutter sound, and your picture will be taken and saved to Vector’s onboard memory. You can view the picture from the Vector App, and from there, delete, share, or save it to your phone or tablet. Your photos are not sent to or stored in the cloud. You can delete pictures saved to Vector anytime through the Vector app. Photos that you have Vector create are stored encrypted on the robot.


4) How do Vector’s voice features work?

Vector works similarly to other voice devices. The robot processes what he hears, and if he detects the wake words (“Hey Vector”), a stream is opened to the cloud that includes a fraction of a second before you said the wake words. You can also activate Vector’s voice features by tapping the button on his back. When a stream is open, Vector’s lights shine blue, and the stream is closed after you give your command. If the three square lights on Vector’s back are not on, Vector is not streaming. In the cloud, your voice command is translated to text and processed so Vector can understand it. You can mute Vector’s mic by double-clicking his Back button while he is off his Charger. Vector displays a “Mic Mute” icon on his face. When the mic is muted the backpack lights are red. For more information on what Vector’s backpack lights mean, please see this article.


5) What happens to the voice commands I give to Vector?

Voice command audio is deleted after processing. Text translations of commands are saved for product improvement, not associated with a user.


6) Can I turn Vector off?

Yes, you can turn Vector off anytime from a button on Vector’s back. When you turn Vector off, he is powered off. Vector will not detect or react to voice commands, the light on his back and camera are off.


7) How do I teach Vector my name?

When you introduce yourself to Vector, he translates the face he sees into encoded facial features, a set of numbers not recognizable by a person. These numbers are stored locally on the robot and are not uploaded to Digital Dream  Labs nor shared, and you can delete this information from Vector anytime (see below for instructions).


8) Can I make Vector unlearn my name?

Yes, in two ways. Visit the Known Faces section within the Vector app, and tap the Trash icon near the name of person you don't want Vector to recognize anymore. This will delete the saved name of whomever you choose and the numerical features paired with that name. Or, you can use Erase Vector, which deletes all personal information stored on Vector.


9) Can I delete information stored on Vector?

Yes. You can reset your Vector and delete information stored on the robot. You can find instructions here. Please note: Erasing your data from Vector will mean you need to re-do the initial pair and connection flow, go through the tutorial, and you'll lose photos, stats, and people that Vector recognizes and knows. Additionally, to delete your Vector app and app information, you’ll need to separately delete the Vector App from your phone or tablet.


10) How does Vector handle Security?

Vector includes a number of security best practices, including security and privacy features like visual cues (light on his back) when the robot is streaming data to the cloud. Customer data is encrypted between the robot and cloud, and code running on Vector is signed and authorized by Digital Dream Labs. Our security team extensively tests for and has systems to detect threats and vulnerabilities on our products.


11) Does Digital Dream Labs sell my data?

No.


12) How do I report a security issue or a vulnerability?

We take security reports very seriously and are committed to protect our products, customer data and our services from security threats. Please Contact Us if you suspect a vulnerability in our systems, products, or services.

Still need help? Contact Us Contact Us